Text Size: A- | A | A+

Board of Trustees

Board Chair- Stephen McKernan

Steve McKernan was raised in Williamsport, PA, in a large family. He was active in sports and Boy Scouts and worked in the family business. He attended St Bonaventure University, where he graduated in 1978 with a Bachelor Degree in Accounting. He move to New Mexico and started his career in accounting with the firm Deloitte Haskins and Sells, where he attained his license as a CPA.

Steve took at position at the University of New Mexico Hospital in 1980 in the accounting department. His career progression took him to the position of Controller and Chief Financial Officer in the 1980's. He simultaneous served as Executive Director of the UNM Medical Group. In 1996, Steve took the position of Chief Executive Officer of UNM Hospital and served in that position until he retired in 2017. During his tenure as CEO the hospital advanced the programs of UNM to attain a Comprehensive Cancer Center designation, a Stroke Center designation, maintain the level 1 Trauma designation, open multiple community based clinics and many other medical specialties. The hospital grew to employee over 6,000 employees, had a medical staff of 1,000 and revenues of over $1 billion. The hospital invested nearly $1 billion in capital projects during his time as CEO. He was also involved in a number of complex financial transaction with the state and federal government to assure the health of the hospital. He was also instrumental in implementation of the electronic medical record system that attained more than ten most wired hospitals in the country.

Mr. McKernan is involved with providing financial planning and strategic planning services to hospitals and high tech biomedical startups.

Steve has been married to his wife, Rebecca for over 40 years and they have 4 children and 4 grandchildren. Steve has been active in Rotary and Boy Scouts during his career and has served on a number of local and national boards.

Chief of Staff - Dr. Ayodele Erinle

Dr. Ayodele Erinle is a nephrologist in Gallup, NM and is affiliated with multiple hospitals in the area, including Gallup Indian Medical Center and Rehoboth McKinley Christian Health Care Services. He received his medical degree from University of Lagos College of Medicine and has been in practice 26 years. He is experienced in end stage renal disease management, hypertension, general nephrology, acute renal failure, chronic kidney disease, interventional nephrology, investigational new drug research, and hospital medicine delivery and management. Education: Medical College: University of Lagos, Nigeria Residency: Internal Medicine, St Agnes Healthcare, Baltimore Maryland Fellowships: 1. Geriatrics, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pennslyvania 2. Nephrology, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston Texas 3. Interventional Nephrology, Regional Medical Center, South Carolina Current Positions: Medical Director Red Rocks Dialysis/US Renal Care (USRC) - Rehoboth McKinley Christian Healthcare Services Inpatient Dialysis, USRC Gallup Home Dialysis and USRC Crownpoint Dialysis Outpatient units Interventional and Clinical Nephrologist, High Desert Vascular Access Center and High Desert Nephrology Associates Associate Clinical Professor, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Principal Investigator, Investigational New Drugs Studies at HDNA and USRC Dr Erinle is an avid soccer, american football and cycling enthusiast. He enjoys and trains in the martial arts and holds a black belt in the art of Taekwondo. He enjoys international traveling and spending time with his family.

Board Member- Deborah Gornez

Deborah Gorenz retired from Hospital Services Corporation in early 2021 after more than thirty-seven years of service as its president. She was responsible for developing programs and services designed to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of hospitals and other healthcare organizations. Under her leadership, Hospital Services Corporation was named a Best Place to Work in New Mexico in 2019, 2020, and 2021. Other achievements included certification from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) for credentials operations with continuous re-certification since 1997; numerous New Mexico Quality Awards Roadrunner Recognitions utilizing the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence; recognition as a New Mexico Flying Forty Company and a New Mexico Private 100 Company for multiple years; and receipt of the New Mexico Viva Award by the Association of Commerce and Industry for Vision, Investment, Vitality and Action.

Ms. Gorenz attended the University of New Mexico and received both a bachelor's and a master's degree in Business Administration. She has served as Chair of the Board of Directors for the University of New Mexico Anderson School of Management Foundation, Quality New Mexico, and Association of Healthcare Enterprises. Additionally, Ms. Gorenz previously held positions as Assistant Secretary/Treasurer of the New Mexico Hospital Equipment Loan Council, Vice President of the New Mexico Hospital Association, Executive Director of LA Credentials, LLC, Panel of Judges for Quality New Mexico, and as a member of the Board of Directors for the Association of Commerce and Industry, New Mexico Health Resources, and New Mexico Society of Association Executives. She was also a member and graduate of Leadership New Mexico.

Board Member- Genevieve Robran

Genevieve Robran is currently employed by Presbyterian Medical Services a non-profit FQHC as the Regional Director. She is responsible for overseeing the primary care clinics in five counties in Western NM. These Counties include, McKinley, Cibola, Catron, Socorro and Northern Sandoval serving Cuba and Eastern Navajo. Ms. Robran has 32 years of experience in FQHC primary care operations and is very familiar with all aspects of primary care to include -medical, dental and behavioral health services. Ms. Robran has served on numerous non-profit boards as well as State boards and is very familiar with Gallup and McKinley County.

Board Member- Bill Lee (ex-officio)

Bill Lee is the President/C.E.O. for The Gallup McKinley County Chamber of Commerce. Bill is a 2012 graduate of the "Institute for Organization Management" and has served on their Board of Regents and as a faculty member, teaching leadership, and organizational excellence. Bill is a Certified Clifton StrengthsFinder Executive and Personal Coach. He is a Past Chair of the New Mexico Chamber Executives Association and was recently re-elected to their board. He is the Past President of the Tourism Association of New Mexico (now the New Mexico Hospitality Association) and was nominated as Tourism Professional of the year in 2018 for the state of New Mexico. Bill served as County Commissioner for District 3 in McKinley County from 2016-2020. He has been recognized as a "Regional Champion" by the Northwest New Mexico Council of Governments and, as one of the "Top 22 C.E.O.s" by Albuquerque Business First. He also runs his own small business, offering Hot Air Balloon rides and flies the New Mexico True hot air balloon for the state tourism department. Bill is married, has two grown daughters, and three wonderful grandchildren.

Board Documents

Board Agenda 1.19.2022
Public Notices 1.19.2022
Board Agenda 12.15.21
Public Notices 11.17.21
Board Agenda 11.17.21
Public Notices 10.20.21
Board Agenda 10.20.21